Defeated NDC candidate, 4 others petition court to annul Amewu’s Hohoe victory

The 2020 NDC parliamentary candidate for Hohoe constituency, Prof. Margaret Kweku and four others are urging the Ho High Court to set aside the election results of now Hohoe MP, John Peter Amewu.

The petitioners want fresh elections to be conducted.

The others who have joined the NDC candidate to file this parliamentary election petition are Simon Alan Opoku Mintah, John Kwame Obimpeh, Godfred Koku Kofie, and Felix Quarshie.

These are residents of Santrokofi, Akpafu, Likpe, and Lolobi (SALL).

The Electoral Commission (EC) and the former Energy Minister have been named as defendants.

The NDC candidate and the SALL residents had prior to Mr. Amewu’s swearing-in as MP secured a 10-day injunction at the Ho High Court.

They had argued that the failure of the EC to allow them to vote in the parliamentary elections breached their rights guaranteed under the constitution.

SALL case at Supreme Court

The Supreme Court stopped short of setting aside this injunction because it had elapsed when it was asked to intervene by the Attorney General.

The Apex Court nonetheless held that the residents should have filed an election petition since they were challenging the validity of Mr Amewu’s election.

The court, therefore, set aside portions of the case filed at the Ho High Court that related to the validity of the election leaving the human rights aspect at the court.

The residents have now filed an election petition pushing to have a fresh election.

New petition

The petition contends that the SALL areas at all material times were part of the Hohoe Constituency.

It argues further that, not allowing the residents to vote inured to the benefit of Mr. Amewu since the NDC candidate enjoyed strong support from SALL.

They, therefore, want the court to set aside the elections for a fresh one to be organized allowing the SALL residents to vote.

See full petition below:

Other election petitions

This brings to seven, the number of Parliamentary petitions filed so far.

The NDC’s losing candidate Christopher Beyere Baasongti is challenging the election of Martin Adjei Mensah Korsah as MP for Techiman South while cases have been filed against the election of NDC’s James Quayson at Assin North and Joseph Kwame Kumah who won the Kintampo North polls.

At the Savelugu Constituency, the NPP’s 2020 Parliamentary Candidate Muhammed Abdul-Samed Gunu has also filed a petition at the Tamale High Court challenging the validity of the results.

This is similar to the case in the Buem Constituency, where the validity of the NDC’s candidate Kofi Adams as the elected MP is being challenged.

Finally, the Upper East Region NPP is challenging the election of Madam Laadi Ayii Ayamba as Member of Parliament (MP) for the Pusiga Constituency.

The petition filed by Abdul-Karim Zanni Dubiure, the NPP candidate is citing over voting in five electoral areas of the Constituency.

The respondents are the Electoral Commission of Ghana (EC) and Madam Laadi Ayii Ayamba, the NDC MP.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *