No sprinter groups under my chairmanship – Ofosu Ampofo

Aspiring National Chairman for the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC), Mr Samuel Ofosu Ampofo, has promised to finance the party’s grass-root through appropriate structures.

The former Director of Elections for the party, who is seeking to replace Mr Kofi Poturphy says he will not entertain sprinter groups but allow structures of the party to work effectively and efficiently.

This idea, which has also been championed by the General Secretary aspirant, Koku Anyidoho, is meant to maintain discipline and respect for the party structures.

All sprinter groups he emphasized would be brought under the structures of the party in order for the umbrella family to keep track of party activities.

Delegates he said have bought into his message and expressed strong optimism he will surely emerge as the National Chairman after the polls on November 17, 2018.

He also said he connected very well with the grass-roots membership of the party, saying “as a team player I believe it is time for me to assume the national chairmanship of the NDC to steer affairs of the party to another landmark victory in 2020.

Other aspirants in the race are a former General Secretary of the NDC, Alhaji Huudu Yahaya, “a former Trade and Industry Minister and former NDC MP for Keta, Mr Dan Abodakpi, a former Attorney General and current NDC Vice Chairperson, Mrs Betty Mould-Iddrisu, a former Defence Minister, Dr Benjamin Kunbour, and Mr Daniel Annan.


Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo was a former District Chief Executive Appointed by His Excellency Jerry John Rawlings, He later run for Member of Parliament and won the seat for NDC, when the party lost power in 2000 election and went to opposition he stood for the party National Organizer position and won, he worked hard with his colleagues to get the party back to power in 2008.

He was appointed Ghana Minister for Local Government and Rural Development. He was appointed by President Mills during a cabinet reshuffle in January 2011.

Prior to this appointment, he had been the Eastern Regional Minister since the start of the Mills NDC government in 2009. He was succeeded by Dr Kwasi Akyem Apea-Kubi.

In 2014 Hon. Ofosu-Ampofo stood for National ice Chairman and won convincingly and became the First Vice National Chairman of the NDC, Under Former President John Mahama regime, he appointed Hon. Ofosu-Ampofo as the Board Chairman of Ghana ports and Habour Authority in 2013.

He is a member of the National Democratic Congress.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *