Parliament vets ministerial nominees for new regions today

The Appointments Committee of Parliament is expected to today, Thursday, 14 March 2019 begin vetting ministerial nominees for the six new regions.

This follows their appointment by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo to fill the new vacancies created.

The nominees are:

Oti Region – Mr Kwasi Owusu Yeboah with Mr Maxwell Blagodzi as his deputy.

Bono East Region – Mr Kofi Amoakohene with Mr Martin Oti Gyarko as his deputy.

Ahafo Region – Mr Evans Opoku Bobie with Mr Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere as his deputy.

Savannah Region – Mr Salifu Adam Braimah with Mr Samuel Yeyu Tika as his deputy.

North East Region – Mr Solomon Namliit Boar with Mr Tahiru Tia Ahmed as his deputy.

Western North Region – Mr Kingsley Aboagye Gyedu with Mr Alex Tetteh as his deputy.

Also, the appointments committee will vet Gomoa West MP, Alex Kodwo Kom Abban who has been named a deputy Health Minister.

At the vetting, the nominees are expected to answer questions bordering on their educational backgrounds and work experience.

The committee members will also solicit answers from the nominees in relation to the policy direction they will be proffering for their respective ministries.

After the vetting, the committee will write a report to Parliament, recommending by consensus or a majority decision for a nominee to be approved or rejected by the House.

A plenary will consider the report and after contributions from members, the House can approve or reject the nominee.

When the House approves the nomination of a minister or a deputy minister, the President will then swear in the person to assume work.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *