PNC vets national executive, flag bearer aspirants

The People’s National Convention (PNC) has successfully vetted all aspirants seeking election to national executive positions in the party ahead of its national congress.

The exercise, which was held at the party’s headquarters in Accra from Friday, September 11, 2020 to Sunday, September 13, 2020, also involved persons aspiring to lead the party as flag bearer in the upcoming presidential election.

A four-member committee, chaired by Colonel Luri Bayorbor, who is also the Chairman of the Council of Elders, cross-questioned the aspirants on diverse issues as the party sought to select the best candidates to steer its affairs for the next four years.

The PNC has scheduled its national congress for September 26, 2020.

It will be held simultaneously in all the 16 regions in accordance with the COVID-19 preventive protocols.

A collation centre will be created in Accra where the results from the various regions will be collated and declared by the Electoral Commission on the same day.

A total of 31 aspirants are battling for 13 positions.

Three persons – Rev. Samuel Adjei-Debrah, Asaki Samson Awingobit, and David Apasara – are contesting the flagbearer position.

If Rev. Adjei, who is a native of Aburi in the Eastern Region, gets the nod, it will be historic for the party as it will become the first time a non-northerner will be elected as the party’s flag bearer.

However, he faces stiff competition from Mr. Asaki who is the current Executive Secretary of the Importers and Exporters Association, and Mr. Apasara, a former three-term Member of Parliament (MP) for the Bolgatanga Constituency.

The contest for chairmanship will be a two-horse race between the incumbent National Chairman, Mr. Bernard Monarh, and a former MP for the Sissala East Constituency, Mr. Moses Dani Baah.

Eugene T.K. Bashiru, Bekury Omar Ahmed, Bala Saluhu Maikankan, Henry Asante and Hajia Ajara Ali are all vying for the vice chairmanship.

McDonald Kobbs Tong, Janet Nabla and Emmanuel Wilson are contesting the general secretary position while Yakubu Faharudeen is grappling for the deputy general secretary position.

Here, it is a battle of serving national officers (Wilson & Janet) and a grass-roots man (Kobbs) from the Central Region.

Abass Nuhu, Desmond T Ntow and Daniel Nii Noi Osekine are battling for the National Organiser position while Francis Dasu and Saaed Abdala are contesting the Deputy National Organiser position.

Hummi Sinare, Hidaya Sungjun Ibrahim, Esther Osei, Patience Lamis Adam are challenging one another for the National Women’s Organiser position, while Christiana Fugah and Wasilatu Shiabu are vying for the Deputy Women’s Organiser position.

The National Treasurer position on the other hand is being contested by Kabba Abraham, Jacob Amoako, and Emmanuel Akannae.

Three aspirants – Mark Ewusi Arkoh (National Youth Organiser), Issahaque Awudulai (National Communication Officer), and Prince K. Agyemang-Duah – are uncontested.

In an interview, Mr. Bernard Mornah said he had “an interesting conversation” with the vetting committee and expressed full confidence that his work for the party over the years would secure his re-election.

“The larger part of the conversation was virtually commendations for how far I have projected the PNC, defended and stayed with the party and they pointed out obviously that they were certain that members of the NPP and the NDC would relish to have me in their front and that my continuous stay in the PNC was more than an asset to the party,” he said.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *